REQUIREMENTS TO OBTAIN A MARRIAGE
LICENSE IN UINTAH COUNTY
The couple must appear together in the Uintah County Clerks Office.
147 East Main
Vernal, Utah 84078
The fee is $30.00. An additional $10.00 optional fee can be donated to shelters for victims of Domestic Violence.
The fee for additional copies of the marriage license is $6.00 per
Hours are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday. (The office
is not open on Saturday, Sunday or holidays)
1. A marriage license may be issued by the county clerk after the
applicants provide the following required information:
- Full names, including the maiden name of
- Social Security numbers, unless the applicant has not been assigned
- Current address
- Date and place of birth (town or city, county, state or country,
- Names of respective parents, including the maiden name of the mother;
Birthplaces of father and mother (state or country);
- Race of applicants
- Bring most recent photo ID such as a driver's license or passport.
- Date of any previous marriage which ended in either death, divorce or annullment.
2. Social Security Number Requirements.
The Social Security numbers obtained under
the authority of this section may not be recorded on the marriage
license, and are not open to inspection as a part of the vital statistics
The Department Health, Bureau of Vital Records,
and Health Statistics shall upon request, supply those Social Security
numbers to the Office of Recovery Services within the Department
of Human Services.
The Office of Recovery Services may not use
any Social Security numbers obtained under the authority of this
section for any reason other than the administration of child support
Applicants must be 18 years of age and have legal proof of age:
Valid drivers license, or Birth Certificate, or Passport.
Marriage by minors;
Applicants under the age of 18 years of age are required to have
If the applicant is 16 or 17 years of age,
a parent or legal guardian must be present to sign consent.
If the applicant is 15 years of age, an authorization
to marry must be provided by a juvenile judge of the court exercising
juvenile jurisdiction in the county where either party to the marriage
resides. The written authorization may also be obtained from a court
commissioner as permitted by rule of the Judicial Council. Please
contact our office for a form. (Section 30-1-9 Marriage by Minors)
Applicants under 14 years of age cannot obtain
a marriage license under Utah law.
List of Marriage Officiants
Sonya Norton (435) 789-7265 Bus (435) 789-7719 Home
Duchesne County Justice Court:
Claire Poulson (435) 738-0109
Jack Peterson (435) 722-3354
Daggett County Justice Court:
Clair Reed (435) 784-3154
Anne Schneidervin (435) 885-3183
Licenses are valid for 30 days from date of issue, there is no waiting
period and may be used any place in the State of Utah.
Utah Counties Marriage Index Information